By browsing our site you accept the installation and use cookies on your computer. Know more

Menu INRA AgroParisTech Labex Arbre Logo_UL Logo_cnrs Logo_unistra Beta

Bureau for Economic Theory and Applications

Laboratoire d'Economie Forestière

LEF biennial workshop: tentative programme

The Laboratory of Forest Economics (Laboratoire d’Economie Forestière, LEF, Nancy, France) is organizing a workshop (23-24 October 2014) on its main thematics: Forest sector modelling and Economics of multifunctionality in Forest. The biennial workshop will focus this year on the economics of carbon and climate change.

The objective of this workshop is to contribute to a better understanding of the efficient management of multi-functional forest in response to climate change and for carbon sequestration. The management of forest and the interactions with other land uses are typically important in a context of climate change for mitigation or adaptation issues. These components will bring crucial information for policy design and implementation of, e.g., payments for environmental services schemes.

In particular, the workshop will address the following topics:

  • Forest sector analysis in a context of climate change
  • Climate policies
  • Demand/supply of ecosystem services and public policies for carbon sequestration
  • Payments and markets for carbon
  • The role of scale and land uses in reducing emissions
  • Risk, uncertainty, climate change and sustainability

Confirmed speakers:

Jens Abildtrup (LEF)
Goran Bostedt (CERE)
Sylvain Caurla (LEF - PIK)
Florian Claeys (CIRAD - LEF)
Christian de Perthuis (University Dauphine - Chaire Economie du Climat)
Mathieu Fortin (LERFOB)
Minh Ha-Duong (CIRED)
Craig Johnston (University of Victoria)
Maarit Kallio (METLA)
Gilles Lafforgue (Toulouse Business School)
Cosmas Lambini (BAYCEER, University of Bayreuth)
Greg Latta (Oregon State University)
Antonello Lobianco (LEF)
Ruben Lubowski (Environmental Defense Fund)
Alexander Moyseyev (EFI)
Eirik Romstad (Norwegian University of Life Sciences)
Xiaoxi Wang (PIK)

Organizing Committee
Philippe Delacote (
Serge Garcia (
Barbara Lacor (
Evelyne Lenel (

Download documents